My Army…

Here is a much more personal blog post. This is to highlight what I have to do currently to try and manage my condition. I wanted to share this with you all as I have kept rather impersonal on my treatment to try and avoid confusion or debate about whether this works. It is not perfect – we are trying to find out why I have attacks and why it is so unpredictable at the moment. REMEMBER – THIS IS MY INDIVIDUAL PLAN AND IT HAS BEEN DECIDED BY A CONSULTANT WHO KNOWS MY CONDITION. EVERYONE IS DIFFERENT! This is a bit of an insight into my daily medicine routine and how I cope.

Morning

In the mornings, I often find that my symptoms are really bad – especially at the moment. I notice that I desperatly need my inhalers, almost as if I cannot do anything before I take them. It is really unnerving how bad my breathing is before I take them! My first inhaler I take is Salbutomal. Fairly standard and nothing special except the fact it feels wonderful to be able to breathe – just a little better. I take this through my spacer and have two puffs to begin with.

IMG_0260

with the spacer..

IMG_0261

Without the spacer…

 

I then move on to my Spiriva inhaler. This inhaler is funky in a way. You have to ‘build’ it before being able to use it. This inhaler is fantastic. It feels a bit like a nebuliser – I really do feel it opening up my airways, just for that little bit. It is a dream of an inhaler for me and I really could not imagine my morning routine without it. Despite it being a different shape, my spacer allows it to fit in and therefore I can still utilize the benefits of the spacer.

IMG_0265

With the spacer…

IMG_0262

Without the spacer…

 

I then move on to the steroid based inhalers. I have two of them but the first one I take is the Alvesco inhaler. It took my asthma nurse to show me that it could fit into my spacer despite it being a rounded one. This one packs a punch – it tastes awful mixed with toothpaste! It does the job though despite the lack of flavour – there’s an idea – fruity inhalers!!

IMG_0266

Without – you can see the rounded edge

IMG_0267

With the spacer – fits really nicely!

The last inhaler for the morning is my relvar. This does not fit in the spacer and it is powder based. It feels weird when you have to open a new one as they come in foil containers. This was one of the first inhalers I was prescribed by my consultant and I remember the pharmacy at uni finding it hard to source them. I had a consultation with the pharmacist just because he wanted to see how you would use it. I believe more people are prescribed it now and my home pharmacy seems to keep a good stock of it!

IMG_0268.JPG

Looks a bit like a tape measure! Plus its all in a foreign language!

That is it for the inhaled therapies in the morning. I then take my tablets – Lanzoprazole and Gabapentin. I notice a massive difference if I miss these as one controls acid reflux and the other helps with my chronic pain I have in my lungs (we still do not know why or what is causing this). As you can see – for a 22 year old, this is a decent amount of medication just to start a day! If I am on Pred, the amount obviously increases! I could not do without it all though!

IMG_0272.JPG

This is by far the easiest way to keep track of the meds!

Evening

The evening routine is a little lighter on the inhaler front. I take my alvesco and salbutomol again, just before I clean my teeth and get ready for bed. The double dose of alvesco does make one hell of a difference. The only issue I have, is having the energy to actually do the inhalers! I know – naughty of me but being realistic – I do fall asleep and forget time to time. We are all human!

 

I then take more medication. I am on Vitamin D as I find it does help lift my energy up. It has a quiet impact on day to day life and I certainly notice the difference without it. It really was valuable when I was working shifts and doing nights – lack of vitamin D is not great! I also take more Gabapentin and I am currently on a maintenance antibiotic which I take three times a week.

IMG_0274

More Pills!!!

Day to Day

Throughout the day, I often have to take my salbutomol frequently. I have one in my bag at all times and it sits on my desk at work. I could not do a day without it and I think many would be shocked at how often I do have to use it. I just cannot go a day without it which makes me really sad in a way. I am glued to this medication just to carry on living. This is the necessity though.

I hope this has cured curiosity and given those without asthma an insight into the world. Medications frequently get changed and there are lots of others out there. These are the ones I am currently on and I hope it gives some of you a bit more of an understanding. I hope you enjoyed the more personal touch!

Thank You.

https://www.asthma.org.uk/

https://www.asthma.org.uk/advice/severe-asthma/treating-severe-asthma/how-is-severe-asthma-treated/

https://www.asthma.org.uk/advice/inhalers-medicines-treatments/inhalers-and-spacers/

Leave a comment